School of Media & Strategic Communications

More Awards for SMSC/Student Media

We are very pleased to report additional awards received by some of our outstanding SMSC/Student Media.  Here are the awards as reported by Barbara Allen (Adviser, The O'Colly and Director, Student Media):

*  APSE (Associated Press Sports Editors, the nation's top group of sports journalists) recently awarded second place to Nathan Ruiz in the group's Inaugural Student Sports
   Journalism Contest.  A group of eight judges selected his portfolio of work that included a feature, breaking news, enterprise multimedia or video and a wild-card entry.

* Nathan was also honored in the Society of Features Journalism national contest with the top sports entry.  First-place sports features (in the 90,000 and smaller circulation size
  newspaper) for his story on James Washington.

* In that same contest, Stetson Payne won second place, top collegiate feature writer in the country, an award our own Cody Stavenhagen won first in last year.  

Job well done to Nathan and Stetson!!