School of Media & Strategic Communications

OSU Sports Media Students Working for OKC Thunder

Contact Dr. Ted Kian

Record 3 OSU Students Interning with Thunder's Media Relations Dept.

OKLAHOMA CITY (Oct. 28, 2015) - The Oklahoma City Thunder tip off the 2015-16 season Wednesday versus the visiting San Antonio Spurs in a Western Conference showdown of two of the top teams in the NBA.

Multiple students from the Oklahoma State University Sports Media program are slated to work for the Thunder tonight and at every home game during the season.

A record three OSU Sports Media majors landed highly competitive, paid season internships with the Thunder's basketball communications department:  Thomas Chapman (junior, Tulsa native), Lauren Russell (junior, Oklahoma City native), Ashleigh Young (senior, Santa Ana, California, native).

"We are pleased to offer Ashleigh, Lauren and Thomas positions within our Basketball Communications Department for the 2015-16 season,"  said Matt Tumbleson, Director of Basketball Communications for the Thunder.  "I've been impressed with the Oklahoma State Sports Media Program and I look forward to a continued relationship with the university moving forward."

Dan Mahoney, the Thunder's Vice President of Broadcasting and Corporate Communications, has visited Stillwater multiple times to guest lecture in Clinical Associate Professor Gina Noble's Sports Public Relations class.  John Read, the Thunder's Coordinator of Basketball Operations, annually guest lectures to Dr. Ted Kian's Contemporary Sports Media class and has also come to Stillwater to speak to the OSU Association for Women in Sports Media (AWSM) chapter.

Additionally, other students from the OSU Sports Media program and School of Media and Strategic Communications will work Thunder home games for the events or marketing staff as paid game-day assistants.

"The Thunder are one of the best run professional organizations in sports," said Dr. Kian, OSU Welch-Bridgewater Endowed Chair of Sports Media.  "We are fortunate that their staff continuously supports our Sports Media program through visits to Stillwater.  More important, the Thunder recognizes the quality of OkState Sports Media by hiring our students."

Founded in 2009, the OSU Sports Media program is the largest stand-alone sports media major in the world, with students who graduated from high school in 38 different U.S. states enrolled in the program over the past two academic years.  Students garnering experiences both within and outside of the classroom are the primary focus of OSU Sports Media.

Many students work for student media outlets such as the O'Colly (student newspaper), (the OSU television station), KXZY (OSU's student radio station), and the Pioneer Media team, which produces multimedia content on the Stillwater High School football team.

In addition, OSU Athletics is a frequent employer of OSU Sports Media majors.  The OSU Sports Media program accounts for all 13 student assistants in the OSU Athletics communications offices (2 graduate students, 11 undergraduates) and 13 student assistants for Orange Power Studios, the video-production arm of OSU Athletics.


Student Starts O'Colly Podcast

Luke Spencer, an OSU multimedia journalism major, recently developed the O'Cast, a podcast that airs under The O'Colly.  The podcast has three segments:  O'Cast, O'Cast Entertainment Show and O'Cast: Sports Pass.  The podcast is just one way The O'Colly is expanding its media and continuing its legacy as a pioneer in student-run news.

2015-2016 NSAC Team Chosen

The 2015-2016 NSAC team has been chosen.  Sixteen of OSU's brightest media students have been selected to participate in this year's National Student Advertising Competition.  Participating students have been asked to form an integrated advertising campaign for this year's NSAC client Snapple.  The remainder of the semester will involve them participating in intense research, while next semester their focus will be on building the campaign content.  OSU's team will be supervised by SMSC professors Lisa Frein and Cynthia Nichols.

The 2015-2016 NSAC team consists of:

Matt Cohlmia
Lauren Combs
Zack Cox
Dondre Daniels
Paris Dahlstrom
Rachelle Gardner
Anthony Garza
Alexis Gliedt
Kate Harper
Chelsey Johnson
Sam Koontz
Janecia Love
Alexandria Marianos
Alexis Natale
Natalie Price
Stevan Rodriguez

Congratulations everyone!